Paea. Polynesian stories, Tour of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Paea. Histoires de Polynésie, Tour de l’île de Tahiti

There is little or nothing of the Marae Mahiatea built by Purea to ensure the supremacy of his son's children and the Amo Pomare. Cook had the opportunity to admire the beautiful dimensions 81 meter, 25 meters wide, 13 meters high due to 11 steps that composed. The monument to Tati, the great Tati, evokes memories. Its stones desecrated, used in the construction of the road, a bridge that was swept away by a flood, and the establishment of high planting Atimaono, which made bankrupt. Atimaono, the only coastal plain worthy of the name, inspiration Rochester Even ...

read more

Taravao. Polynesian stories, around the island of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Taravao. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

After a stop in Taravao, crossroads between west coast and east coast, between the mainland and the small land, turn fantasy continues, Tautira between fantasy and because the road is nonexistent Teahupoo. The island is full of contrasts, sometimes you forget the myth, dream and face the reality of a barracks, true of another age fortification built to prevent the men from the peninsula not swell the rebels Tahiti. When the war ended she became gendarmerie, during World War II jail for ten Germans settled in the island, finally ...

read more

Papearii. Polynesian stories, around the island of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Papearii. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

We leave the peninsula, and that Papearii which was according to tradition earth anchor for these first inhabitants of Tahiti founders of the great line of Teva whose sovereignty extended to Papara. They had arrived the great Marae Taputapuatea Raiatea carrying sacred stones founding their new Marae. This villa buried beneath the protected vegetation looks was built by the English writer Robert Keable former pastor of the Anglican Church in America famous for his religious works but Tahiti metamorphosis as often men and Keable forgetting the treasures ...

read more

Papeete. Polynesian stories, around the island of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Papeete. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

It is around this harbor that the pastor Crook and missionaries of the London Missionary settle. The port starts attracting whalers, merchant ships and warships same. In 1843, this village nascent, became the capital of the French protectorate and Queen Pomare IV including the importance of this place is moved to his home. Vaiete that crosses the royal lands gives its name to the city, Vaiete, Papeete, basket of water, this is indeed where the locals once they filled their canteens then carried in woven baskets. If the English missionaries were well creates ...

read more

Pirae. Polynesian stories, around the island of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Pirae. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

This is the east coast, the example of James Cook was the first to do so begins the tour of the island, fantasy turn-. A Pirae, history and literature meet at the foot of the waterfall Fataua immortalized by Pierre Loti. «Is, All day there were numerous society, "he wrote, "On the grass there were stretches the beautiful young women of Papeete who spent the warm tropical days cause sing, sleep or even to swim and dive like bream agile. " .

read more

Papenoo. Polynesian stories, around the island of Tahiti

Posted in Discovery channel, Polynesian stories | 0 comments

Papenoo. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

We talked about it with my friend, before people lived in the forest, and not by the sea, Now we live near the sea, more convenient for fishing and the rest, this is the old saying, We were there not. Papenoo Valley is one of the largest, One of those was the longest inhabited, residential pavements, terraces, foundation of boxes, ruins of domestic marae have been restored and are now maintained and open to walkers, walkers, it is with these remains that we understand the nobility of the stone , which encloses the sacred stone which requires that the tapu ...

read more
Top

Paea. Histoires de Polynésie, Tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Paea. Histoires de Polynésie, Tour de l’île de Tahiti

Il ne reste rien ou presque rien du Marae de Mahiatea édifié par Purea pour assurer la suprématie de son fils sur les enfants d’Amo et sur les Pomaré. Cook eut l’occasion d’en admirer les superbes dimensions 81 mètres de long, 25 mètres de large, 13 mètres de haut grâce aux 11 gradins qui le composaient. Le monument élevé à Tati, au grand Tati, en évoque le souvenir. Ses pierres profanées, servirent à la construction de la route, d’un pont qui fût emporté par une crue, et à l’établissement de la grande plantation d’Atimaono, qui fît faillite. Atimaono, la seule plaine littorale digne de ce nom, inspira Sterseven...

en savoir plus

Taravao. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Taravao. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Après une halte à Taravao, véritable carrefour entre la côte ouest et la côte est, entre la grande terre et la petite terre, le tour fantaisie continue, fantaisie car entre Tautira et Teahupoo la route est inexistante. L’île est pleine de contrastes il faut parfois oublier le mythe, le rêve et affronter la réalité d’une caserne, véritable fortification d’un autre âge construite pour éviter que les hommes de la presqu’île ne viennent grossir les rebelles de Tahiti. La guerre terminée elle devient gendarmerie, au cours de la deuxième guerre mondiale prison pour une dizaine d’allemands établis dans l’île, enfin...

en savoir plus

Papearii. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Papearii. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

On quitte la presqu’île, et voilà Papearii qui fut selon la tradition terre d’ancrage pour ces premiers habitants de Tahiti les fondateurs de la grande lignée des Teva dont la souveraineté s’étendait jusqu’à Papara. Ils étaient arrivés du grand Marae Taputapuatea de Raiatea porteurs de pierres sacrées fondatrices de leur nouveau Marae. Cette villa ensevelie sous la végétation protégée des regards fut construite par l’écrivain anglais Robert Keable ancien pasteur de l’église anglicane célèbre en Amérique pour ses ouvrages religieux mais Tahiti comme souvent métamorphose les hommes et Keable oubliant les trésors...

en savoir plus

Papeete. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Papeete. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

C’est autour de cette rade que le pasteur Crook et les missionnaires de la London Missionary s’installent. Le port commence à attirer baleiniers, navires de commerce et même bâtiments de guerre. En 1843, ce village naissant, devient la capitale du protectorat français et la reine Pomare IV comprenant l’importance que prend ce lieu y installe sa demeure. La Vaiete qui traverse les terres royales donne son nom à la ville, Vaiete, Papeete, panier d’eau, c’est en effet là que les habitants autrefois remplissaient leur gourde qu’ils transportaient ensuite dans des paniers tressés. Si les missionnaires anglais ont bien crée la...

en savoir plus

Pirae. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Pirae. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

C’est par la côte est, à l’exemple de James Cook qui fut le premier à le faire que commence ce tour de l’île, tour-fantaisie. A Pirae, histoire et littérature se rencontrent au pied de la cascade de la Fataua immortalisée par Pierre Loti. « Là, tout le jour il y avait société nombreuse » écrit-il, « sur l’herbe on trouvait étendues les belles jeunes femmes de Papeete qui passaient les chaudes journées tropicales à causer chanter, dormir ou bien encore à nager et à plonger comme des daurades agiles. » Sur le côté une piste escarpée trace son chemin jusqu’aux ruines d’un refuge ou s’étaient retranchés...

en savoir plus

Papenoo. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

Mis en ligne dans Chaîne Découverte, Histoires de Polynésie | 0 commentaire

Papenoo. Histoires de Polynésie, tour de l’île de Tahiti

On en parlait avec mon ami, avant les gens vivaient dans la forêt, et pas au bord de la mer, maintenant on vit près de la mer, plus pratique pour pêcher et le reste, c’est ce que disent les anciens, nous on y était pas. La vallée de la Papenoo est une des plus larges, une de celles qui fut le plus longtemps habitées, des dallages d’habitation, des terrasses, des fondation de cases, des ruines de marae domestiques ont été restaurés et sont aujourd’hui entretenus et ouverts aux marcheurs, aux promeneurs, c’est au regard de ces vestiges que l’on comprend la noblesse de la pierre , pierre qui enferme le sacré qui impose le tapu qui...

en savoir plus
Top