Posted in Nature and well-being channel , Te natura | 0 comments

Thea manta ray is a giant of the seas. Weighing up 3 tonnes, it is among the largest fish with the current shark whale and basking shark. It is a pelagic fish, that is to say it is closer infrequently underwater and it does not depend on them to live. Indeed, as its corps is adapted to a semi-permanent swimming. Their wings are actually developed hyper fins that allow it to move.

Manta rays are even capable of jumping : They can perform spectacular jumps several meters hauteur.Ces jumps used to get rid of parasites such as lice ocean which attach to the skin. Some scientists believe that the "delivery of small rays may also be done during these jumps.

Because of its size and appearance, this imposing animal is linked to many stories and legends. Once, the fafarua was considered an aggressive animal and evil. For example, to Tuamotu, It is said that it prevented fishermen pearl rising to the surface by spreading over them.
Indeed, the manta ray is also called sea devil, because of this bad reputation and presence of horns in front of the head. The manta ray is actually quite peaceful. It eats plankton capture it with its horns. She is able to move and orient them to form a funnel-shaped trap very effective when swimming.

Its size forces him to eat in large quantities, This is why we meet in places where plankton is abundant, such as the level of passes. Fish often follow the lines are manta.Ce remoras, fish that do not interfere with any of the lines and use them as a bit of a means of transport.

Apart from the leak, the manta ray has no defense because unlike eagle rays and stingrays, it does not sting the base of the tail. Fortunately, the manta ray has very little prédateurs.L orca and big Sharks as the hammerhead and tiger sharks may occasionally attack if it is injured or exhausted. In Polynesia, man is not a predator manta since there is not consumed.

En revanche, it is particularly vulnerable to nets fishing drift and structures of pearl farms. They get entangled, are injured and can die. Currently, the manta ray is not yet considered an endangered species. Even if it is scarce in some parts of the world such as the Gulf of Mexico, for example, their popularity and tourist interest led more governments to implement protection programs. Attract manta rays wherever they occur thousands of divers. To avoid abuse, the Polynesian government has banned the possession of these animals in captivity.

<strong>Réalisation</strong>
				: Claire Schwob' />
				<span class=
Type : Series of magazines Theme : The wildlife and Polynesian flora Title : Te natura Synopsis : face the legendary white sand beaches, the verdant islands of French Polynesia, sometimes remains behind. This magazine series highlights the natural wonders of the islands of French Polynesia. Discover the flora and fauna Polynesian. Unit length : 4 minutes Episodes: 10 Language : French Formats : 4/3
Realization: Claire Schwob Production : Tahiti nui companies

Tahiti.tv, the webtv of Tahiti and her Islands : your virtual trip to French Polynesia through hundreds of video

Comments

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
The Miss Tahiti under the gaze of the camera
Between the lagoon and white sandy beaches, candidates lend themselves to shooting sessions improvised. Some are already accustomed to the gaze of the camera, other, plus timid ...
Day ME in Rurutu, Southern archipel des
On the island of Rurutu, in the village of Avera, is preparing a big party ... Me Day. The boulders are made of Tahitian oven to heat, the grated coconut and each brought again ...
1st Symposium of the cultured pearl of Tahiti
The launch of the anniversary of the Pearl of Tahiti at the first symposium of the Pearl of Tahiti to the Presidency of French Polynesia took place on the 20 January 2011. This prem ...
Learn to say COURAGE reo Tahiti
Courage : fa'aitoito, each glottal accentuée. Fa'aitoito means having courage, Energy, of force. It is also to be bold, persistence. During the Heiva, before certa ...
Top

La raie manta est un géant des mers. Pouvant peser jusqu’à 3 tonnes, c’est parmi le plus grand des poissons actuels avec le requin baleine et le requin pèlerin. C’est un poisson pélagique, c’est-à-dire qu’il se rapproche peu souvent des fonds sous-marins et qu’il ne dépend pas d’eux pour vivre. En effet, la forme de son corps est adaptée à une nage quasi-permanente. Leurs ailes sont en fait des nageoires hyper développées qui lui permettent de se déplacer.

Les raies manta sont même capables de sauter : Elles peuvent effectuer des sauts spectaculaires de plusieurs mètres de hauteur.Ces sauts servent à se débarrasser des parasites comme les poux de mer qui se fixent sur sa peau. Certains scientifiques pensent que l »accouchement des petites raies pourrait se réaliser également lors de ces sauts.

A cause de sa taille et son apparence, cet animal imposant est lié à de nombreux récits et légendes. Autrefois, le fafarua était considéré comme un animal agressif et malfaisant. Par exemple, aux Tuamotu, on raconte qu’elle empêchait les pêcheurs de nacre de remonter à la surface en s’étalant au dessus d’eux.
D’ailleurs, la raie manta est également appelée diable des mers, à cause de cette mauvaise réputation et de la présence des deux cornes en avant de la tête. La raie manta est en réalité tout à fait pacifique. Elle mange du plancton qu’elle capture grâce à ses cornes. Elle est capable de les bouger et de les orienter pour leur donner la forme d’un entonnoir qui forme un piège très efficace lorsqu’elle nage.

Sa taille l’oblige à se nourrir en grandes quantités, c’est pour cela qu’on la rencontre dans les endroits où le plancton est abondant comme par exemple au niveau des passes. Des poissons suivent souvent les raies manta.Ce sont des rémoras, des poissons qui ne gênent pas du tout les raies et qui se servent d’elles un petit peu comme d’un moyen de transport.

A part la fuite, la raie manta n’a pas de moyen de défense car contrairement aux raies léopards et aux raies pastenagues, elle n’a pas de dard venimeux à la base de la queue. Heureusement, la raie manta a très peu de prédateurs.L’orque et les grands requins comme le requin marteau et le requin tigre peuvent occasionnellement l’attaquer si elle est blessée ou épuisée. En Polynésie, l’homme n’est pas un prédateur de la raie manta puisqu’elle n’y est pas consommée.

En revanche, elle est particulièrement vulnérable aux filets de pêche dérivants et aux structures des fermes perlières. Elles s’y emmêlent, se blessent et peuvent y mourir. Actuellement, la raie manta n’est pas encore considérée comme une espèce menacée. Même si elle se raréfie dans certains endroits du monde comme au Golfe du Mexique par exemple, leur popularité et leur intérêt touristique conduit de plus en plus les gouvernements à mettre en place des programmes de protection. Les raies manta attirent partout où elles sont présentes des milliers de plongeurs. Afin d’éviter certains abus, le gouvernement de Polynésie a interdit la détention de ces animaux en captivité.

Réalisation: Claire Schwob
Réalisation: Claire Schwob Production : Tahiti nui companies
Type : Série de magazines Thème : La faune et la flore polynésiennes Titre : Te natura Synopsis : face aux mythiques plages de sables blancs, la nature verdoyante des îles de Polynésie française, reste parfois en retrait. Cette série de magazines met en avant les merveilles de la nature des îles de Polynésie française. Partez à la découverte de la flore et la faune polynésienne. Durée unitaire : 4 minutes Episodes: 10 Langue : français Formats : 4/3

Tahiti.tv, la webtv de Tahiti et ses îles : votre voyage virtuel en Polynésie française à travers des centaines de vidéo

Si vous avez aimé cette article, vous aimerez aussi :

Partagez !
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Share On Youtube
Contact us