Thee treasure Tahitians it is primarily the coconut. There are over one hundred different uses of this wonderful tree which is over the main economic resource of’Oceania. The natives claim that coconuts have eyes and they fall on the head of the bad guys.

We must believe, since vahine settle below without fear of receiving the head ! How nuts coco it becomes industrial copra.

The land is particularly low in Tahiti, they pick the fruit with a picnic. Then the group. The nut is then split with an ax, then the fine is left in the sun for two days, time required for its separation from the envelope. Dehulling is completed using a bent iron. Plots collected fruits are scattered dryers movable roof re closed at night or in bad weather.
The product is returned at regular intervals and, if the weather has persisted, obtained in ten days copra itself, a fat content of the order of 80%.

S sachets, copra is then ready for export. The residue, called « wad », is used in the manufacture of ropes and brushes. But the real broom Tahitian is manufactured with perfectly dry ribs of coconut leaf. The Palme cocotier, as bamboo, has many destinations. We see here is making with green leaves, baskets of all sizes. Baskets used to present the fruits of the market. With all the young leaves on braid hats. As for the coconut, it quenches and nourishes the Aboriginal, but, Once grated, dogs, chats, chickens, ducks, horses, pigs…Another household wealth, bamboo. There are two kinds : bamboo popa'a, that is to say imported, and which permits the resistance of services in the construction and bamboo Tahitian, frailer, softer, but easier to work, which allows for more sensitive uses.

Chosen completely dry, they are split like this. Placed on the ground, each part is crushed using a piece of hardwood. The pressure then causes a break longitudinal bark primitive transforms into strips. And, like coconut comes braiding panels that provide, walls, doors, awnings boxes. Here is a woven bamboo panel.

Apart hats, cups, Upholstery elements, Here a net, fully bamboo. But probably the richest use occurs does the form of pipes. To prepare the plumbing Polynesian, just enucleate interior nodes follow suit before the pipes into each other. Without spending a dime, is fed to the water fare. A typical home : woven bamboo walls and roof coconut palms.

A cottage… and a paradise here say the newlyweds. See this framework, cet horizon, and this pair of Tahitian Métis Caledonian- ; they live in the cottage. A simple and always scrupulously clean. The kitchen is still the subject of a separate construction. As well as the shower, almost always without roof. And… the little place overlooking the sea… Images d’archive

Realization: G. Broca, P. Sintes, Holland Brothers, Claire Schwob, etc.
Realization: G. Broca, P. Sintes, Holland Brothers, Claire Schwob, etc. Production : Opt, Video prod, Tahiti nui companies, etc.
Type : Series of mini Documentary Theme : Archival footage of Tahiti’yore Title : Yesteryear Tahiti Synopsis : Tahiti of yesteryear takes us to the discovery of French Polynesia 1940 to 1970, through archival footage commentary from several funds. Unit length : 5 minutes Episodes: 10 Language : French Formats : 4/3 and 16 9th

Tahiti.tv, the webtv of Tahiti and her Islands : your virtual trip to French Polynesia through hundreds of video

If you enjoyed this Article, You may also like :

Share !
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Share On Youtube
Contact us

Le véritable trésor des Tahitiens c’est avant tout le cocotier. On compte plus de cent usages différents de cet arbre merveilleux qui constitue de plus la principale ressource économique de l’Océanie. Les indigènes affirment que les cocos ont des yeux et qu’ils ne tombent que sur la tête des mauvais sujets.

Il faut le croire puisque les vahine s’installent en dessous sans crainte d’en recevoir sur la tête ! Comment la noix de coco devient-elle du coprah industriel.

La terre étant particulièrement basse à Tahiti, on ramasse les fruits à l’aide d’une pique. Puis on les groupe. La noix est ensuite fendue d’un coup de hache, puis l’amende est laissée au soleil pendant deux jours, temps nécessaire à sa séparation d’avec l’enveloppe. On achève le décorticage à l’aide d’un fer coudé. Les parcelles de fruits ainsi recueillies sont éparpillées sur des séchoirs à toiture mobile pouvant re clos la nuit ou par mauvais temps.
Le produit est retourné à intervalles réguliers et, si le beau temps a persisté, on obtient en dix jours le coprah proprement dit, d’une teneur en matière grasse de l’ordre de 80%.

En sachets, le coprah est alors prêt à l’exportation. Le résidu, appelé « bourre », est utilisé dans la confection de cordes et de balais. Mais le véritable balai tahitien se fabrique avec les nervures parfaitement sèches de la feuille de cocotier. La palme de cocotier, comme le bambou, connaît de nombreuses destinations. Nous assistons ici à la confection à l’aide de feuilles vertes, de paniers de toutes dimensions. Paniers qui serviront à la présentation des fruits sur le marché. Avec les toutes jeunes feuilles on tresse des chapeaux. Quant à la noix de coco, elle abreuve et nourrit l’autochtone, mais encore, une fois râpée, chiens, chats, poulets, canards, chevaux, porcins…Une autre richesse domestique, le bambou. Il en existe deux sortes : le bambou popa’a, c’est-à-dire importé, et dont la résistance autorise des services dans la construction et le bambou tahitien, plus frêle, plus souple, mais plus facile à œuvrer, qui permet des utilisations plus délicates.

Choisis bien secs, ils sont refendus comme ceci. Posée à terre, chaque partie est écrasée à l’aide d’un morceau de bois dur. La pression provoque alors une brisure longitudinale qui transforme l’écorce primitive en lamelles. Et, comme pour le cocotier intervient le tressage qui fournira panneaux, parois, portes, auvents de cases. Voici un panneau en bambou tressé.

Hormis les chapeaux, les gobelets, les éléments d’ameublement, voici une nasse, entièrement en bambou. Mais sans doute la plus riche utilisation se présente t-elle sous la forme de canalisations. Pour préparer cette plomberie polynésienne, il suffit d’énucléer les nœuds intérieurs avant d’emboiter les conduites les unes dans les autres. Sans dépenser un centime, on amène l’eau jusqu’au fare. Une habitation typique : cloisons de bambou tressé et toiture en palmes de cocotier.

Une chaumière… et un paradis diront ici les jeunes mariés. Voyez ce cadre, cet horizon, et ce couple de métis calédonien-tahitien ; ils habitent la chaumière. Un intérieur simple et toujours rigoureusement propre. La cuisine fait toujours l’objet d’une construction séparée. De même que la douche, presque toujours sans toiture. Et… le petit endroit avec vue sur la mer… Images d’archive

Réalisation: G. de Broca, P. Sintes, Frères Hollande, Claire Schwob, etc.
Réalisation: G. de Broca, P. Sintes, Frères Hollande, Claire Schwob, etc. Production : Opt, Video prod, Tahiti nui companies, etc.
Type : Série de mini documentaires Thème : Images d’archives du Tahiti d’antan Titre : Tahiti d’antan Synopsis : Tahiti d’antan nous entraine à la découverte de la Polynésie française de 1940 à 1970, à travers des images d’archives commentées provenant de plusieurs fonds. Durée unitaire : 5 minutes Episodes: 10 Langue : français Formats : 4/3 et 16 9ème

Tahiti.tv, la webtv de Tahiti et ses îles : votre voyage virtuel en Polynésie française à travers des centaines de vidéo

Si vous avez aimé cette article, vous aimerez aussi :

Partagez !
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Share On Youtube
Contact us